Post Malone – Beerbongs & Bentleys (Review)

Post Malone, the rapper born in Syracuse, New York and raised in Grapevine, Texas, has come out with his second album. The cultural-appropriation rapper has come a long way since “White Iverson” and has been in the news for a multitude of reasons. For one thing, he has called out Justin Beiber, someone that was on the Purpose tour with him back in 2016, saying that he basically joined a cult religion. Then he whined and complained about how “being a white rapper is a struggle,” as if he didn’t get in the game being a white dude with cornrows calling himself the White Iverson. Oh, and then there was that thing about how nobody makes real hip-hop music anymore, as if Post Malone has ever made any deep or meaningful music. Basically what I am saying is, Post Malone is a dickhead and has been for quite sometime now. That doesn’t stop me from saying that I liked his last album “Stoney,” but now he has something to prove. Since he is upset that there is no meaningful hip-hop music, he better make some meaningful shit.

Post Malone in-fact did not make any meaningful music. There was party tracks, there was tracks of Post flexing, and there were lots of tracks crying about his ex-girlfriend. I can’t lie to you guys though, most of these tracks slap. Posty didn’t make an album full of story-telling or heartfelt shit, but there is no denying that he went into his mainstream bag and pulled out some bangers. There are multiple tracks that hit for me, with all different sounds. Whether the production was trap-based, dramatic or even sounded like rock music, he made hit after hit. “Takin’ Shots” was the beginning of a streak of five bangers right in a row. Even though lyrically the track is lacking and cringy, can’t deny his vocals and the production get me hype. Of course the track “rockstar” is a hit with 21 Savage. “Over Now” is a track that if my girlfriend ever cheated on me, I would play this and let the anger take over. The track is super hard and honestly, low-key kind of savage. Then you have “Psycho” which is a smoother mainstream-rap track with vocals from Post and Ty Dolla Sign. And then there is “Better Now” which talks about his past relationship and how he misses her. I can’t deny those five in a row were fire.

And there were some other tracks on here that absolutely slap, “Same Bitches” really became a favorite for a lot of people. This has a West Coast feel on the production and Post comes through, I really enjoy this track, even with G-Eazy as one of the features. Of course he was the worst between him, Post and YG, but still Young Gerald didn’t ruin the track so there is that. That is also the case for “Ball For Me,” where a feature that I am not a fan of didn’t ruin the track. Nicki Minaj actually dropped a really solid verse on this track and I for one am shocked. You also had tracks like “92 Explorer” and “Candy Paint” that show Posty flexing his cars and wealth. I guess you can’t blame him, he made dope tracks out of those two. There are just so many catchy tracks across this album, and I am pissed. I believe in my heart that Post Malone is a huge douche who hasn’t showered in three years and doesn’t care about hip-hop music. But the music is catchy and he has a good voice. I was really expecting a trash album, that is not what I got.

However, that doesn’t mean I can’t criticize him for being a hypocrite. You can not come into the hip-hop game, say that there hasn’t been any meaningful hip-hop music and drop an album full of meaning-less music besides different sounds of you being upset at your ex-girlfriend. You just can’t, I’m sorry. If he was here, just making mainstream hip-hop music and not saying anything other than enjoying his life that would be one thing. It is another thing to say what he said, knowing there has been meaningful hip-hop music out the past couple of years. That is clown talk by Post Malone and it honestly irks me to death. He is looking for good hip-hop lyrics, but then says “The diamonds got cut like a boo-boo/ Pockets so fat, rock a muu-muu.” You just can’t do that at all. This album is a whole lot of nothing in terms of lyrics and meaning, which is what Post Malone was whining about.

With all of that being said, there were only a handful of tracks that I didn’t really like. “Spoil My Night” being the worst track, which was disappointing considering the Swae Lee feature and how bad he was. The tropical beat with Swae’s awful feature made me cringe all the way through. “Zack and Codeine” was another party track that I didn’t care for at all, especially with that light-trap beat on there. “Otherside” and “Stay” are the slower tempo, dramatic tracks about him struggling in a relationship with his ex-girlfriend. He dedicated a lot of this album to his ex-girlfriend of his and some of the tracks were good, and some were just meh. Those two are in the “meh” category to me.

So yeah, it pains me to say that I like this album. And yes I am totally aware I am coming off as a huge hypocrite. However, I am aware of his talent of being able to make good mainstream hip-hop music that slap hard as fuck. And although Post Malone is also a huge hypocrite as well, he made tracks that will undeniably be played on radio, at parties and will only make his corny fan-base love him more. He is a tool bag, but the guy made hits. The production was nice, the vocals were nice and he did it with very few features. This album isn’t better than “Stoney,” but damn it he made a solid one. But it is still fuck Post Malone for a while. Being a hypocrite lost him points by the way.

Best 3 Songs:

  1. Better Now
  2. 92 Explorer
  3. Over Now

Worst 3 Songs:

  1. Stay
  2. Spoil My Night ft. Swae Lee
  3. Otherside

Rating: 85/100 B

 

Leave a comment